Something worth reading

This is an old devotional that I wrote at the beginning of the year, but I thought it was worth sharing again. 
A Renewed Spirit
I had the chance to have a weekend alone with my husband this weekend. This is something that doesn’t come along very often for us, so when it does we really work hard to make it special. It just so happened that we had made plans to have my parents keep our kids for the entire weekend because we both had separate plans all weekend. Well, about two days before the weekend came all our plans just fell apart and we were left with a free weekend with an already scheduled babysitter. We had these big plans to go out of town and eat a nice dinner and see a movie on Friday night, then Saturday night we were going to go to another town and eat dinner and play mini golf. I went Friday afternoon and bought a new outfit and took a lot of time to get ready that night so I looked really nice. I was basking in God’s great plan that we would have the entire weekend to spend together doing fun stuff.
We took the kids to my mom’s and headed out. We spent the entire trip talking about everything we could think of and actually enjoying each others company with no one interrupting us. We got ready to pull off the interstate and that’s when it happened… the entire plan started to crumble apart. I pushed in the clutch to down shift, and….. nothing… it wouldn’t work. Here we were surrounded by speeding traffic and I couldn’t shift gears. My heart was racing and I said “it won’t work… I can’t get it into gear.” Justin looked at me like I was from outer space, but I put the flashers on and made a nice stop in the middle of the clover leaf. Cars whizzed by us as we sat there wondering what to do. Justin and I traded places and he couldn’t get it to move either, so we made call after call trying to figure out how we were going to get this car off the interstate and an hour back home when it wouldn’t even drive. At one point, tears streamed down my face as I succumbed to the idea that our plans were falling apart and all that money we had planned to spend having a nice romantic weekend together was now going to go to hauling my car home and getting it fixed, and the fact that no one was helping. In my not at all over-dramatic mind I just knew that we were going to die on the side of the road in a broken down car with cars whizzing around us, never-mind you we know a ton of people that live in Springfield or the surrounding area… but in my mind it was over. We sat for more than an hour in our car before anyone stopped to help us, and then another hour before anyone came to get us and then it took another hour before someone came to get the car, and another 45 minutes to get the car loaded up and on it’s way. I sat there that night through everything feeling sorry for myself and being crushed that our plans had failed. It wasn’t until we were on our way home 4.5 hours later that God spoke to my heart and said, “I know you are sad, but didn’t I protect you? Didn’t I give you a nice cool night to sit and talk with your husband? Didn’t you get a chance to enjoy each others company still? Didn’t I keep you safe in a situation that could have been truly unsafe? Didn’t I send people to help you?”
As all these thoughts continued to pour into my head and heart I began to examine why it was that I was upset. *My car died on the side of the road… okay, well God got us safely to the side of the road and kept us from causing what could have been a major accident. *I didn’t get to have a nice evening with my husband… okay, but I did get to spend the evening alone with him. Still talking and laughing about the situation on a night that was cool when every other night before had been much hotter. And even with the speeding traffic and stress of a broken down car, we had a peaceful evening on the side of the road. * We were spending money we didn’t really have to have to haul and fix this car… well, God provided us with a friend who drove for an hour and hauled it for free (although we did pay him a little) and parents who came to give us a ride home and took us to get our dinner while we were waiting to get the car hauled back home. All in all I would say that God really came through in that situation, and the more I thought about the evening the more evident that fact became to me.
The next evening we did get to have our second night out as planned. We ate a nice dinner by ourselves, played mini golf and ski-ball like teenagers, and laughed. We enjoyed the company of each other and I fell in love with my husband all over again and I was once again reminded of the things that made me fall in love with him. I woke up on Sunday with a refreshed spirit, ready for my kids to come home, but longing to have more time alone with my husband. So, we vowed that we would make nights alone a more frequent thing. And, that morning as I got into the shower I spoke with God. I had a real and good conversation with God, something that I feel had been missing for me for a while. I had so much going on in my life, that my head was full of noise and I felt like I just couldn’t connect to God. But that Sunday I did, in the quiet of my shower after a much needed weekend of rest, I connected with God in a way that hadn’t been there is so long. God has a funny way of getting us to the place that we need and desire. My plan was to spend a weekend with my husband, God’s plan was for me to spend a weekend with my husband… just in a much different way than I had planned. God also planned for me to learn to trust and need him again. He knew that I needed that weekend to clear my head and He helped me to do it, and He helped me to find my way back to Him in the process.
Isaiah 58:11
The LORD will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.
Psalm 37:4
Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.
Leave a Reply

