Timeless Tuesday – Making Bread

Although I sometimes strongly disagree with the idea that every woman should possess an inner quality of Donna Reed, I still sometimes long for that inner quality in my own life. I think because I sometimes meet myself coming and going and in all that busyness I will stop and look around my home and think, ‘oh crap! what happened here? Who did this to my house?’ So yeah, I would occasionally like to strap on my heels, clip on my pearls, and throw on a nice dress and get to vacuuming… just because for that moment in time I could be Donna Reed…
Ah… wouldn’t that be nice… perfectly dressed kids. A husband that comes in and says “Honey! I’m home!” And an always clean house. mmmmm, yes, I think I like this dream! 
Okay, back to reality… in my effort to become 50’s-ish. I have decided to try to make homemade sourdough bread. From a starter and everything. So, here is the recipe that I am using. My first attempt was successful, so I am calling it good. 

Perfect Sourdough Starter
Ingredients:
1 packet of dry Yeast (or 1 tbsp)
1/2 cup of very warm water (120* or more)
mix together until dissolved.
Add: 
1 tsp salt
2 cups warm water
2 cups all purpose flour
Pour into bowl, cover with plastic wrap and let sit for 3 days. Stirring DAILY. After you start using the starter to make bread you will use 1 cup of starter and replace (feed your starter) with 1/2 cup flour and 1 tsp sugar.
BREAD RECIPE:
Ingredients:
1 cup starter
1/2 cup milk
2 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp soft butter, shortening, or margarine
1/2 tsp salt
3 – 4 cups of flour
Scald milk in a pan, being careful not to burn. Add sugar and shortening. Stir until dissolved. Place in a bowl and allow to cool.
After cooled add starter, and stir. Mix in flour and knead for 2 minutes. (I used only 3 cups of flour, but watch your dough as it mixes up to check consistency. It should be a sticky dough consistency.) Grease the dough, cover and allow to rise to double. Punch down, let double again. Punch down, shape into a ball, and allow to rest 10 minutes. 
Form into loaves or rolls, place in a greased pan and let double. Bake on 400* until crust in light golden brown and crispy. Recipe will make about 2 medium sized loaves.
This recipe was very easy. It takes a little longer because you have to let it double so many times, but the payoff if worth it. If you make rolls, make them a little larger (I did the size of my palm) because the smaller ones were all crisp and no soft innards. 🙂
Leave a Reply

