More than you know…

Last night my gracious cousins offered up some tickets to a local UFC fight that was being held. I am not a fan of these fights, my stomach turns at the thought of people getting ears ripped off, having blood ooze from them, and getting bones broken. However, my father-in-law is a big fan of this type of thing. So, he and my husband took the tickets and had a great night.

Now, anyone who isn’t aware of our family situation should know that my mother-in-law has some physical disabilities that prevent her from being left alone. This means my father-in-law spends his time either working or caring for her, but with never a complaint. My father-in-law is one of the most selfless people I know. When we plan family dinners, everyone else gets their say and he just tags along. When we plan vacations, everyone else is considered. He rarely gets to do things that are important to him or that he enjoys because of the wants and needs of everyone else in the family. But, he never complains. (This lack of complaining, by the way, is a wonderful trait my husband has picked up from him.)

So, last night when these tickets were offered I offered to stay with my mother-in-law so that he could have a chance to do something he enjoyed so much. I am not saying this to brag on myself, so please don’t think that. I enjoyed my time with my mother-in-law. I haven’t been able to spend quality time with her for a while, so it was nice. I took her to Wal-Mart and we spent two hours letting my children show her what they wanted for Christmas. It was a very pleasant evening, and I am so happy to have family members that were willing to share their evening so that my father-in-law could get a night that he enjoyed. It comes so rarely for him.

Leave a Reply

