Embracing my inner Aunt Bea

Today I decided to figure out how to make a cake from scratch… like with no recipe… I know, I can hear your gasps now! But, bear with me. I have been trying to make things from scratch, and have the recipes made up and ready so I don’t have to buy boxed recipes. It has worked with brownies, chocolate chip cookies, and cornbread (my momma’s sweet southern cornbread) so far. It has been so nice, and such a time and money saver. Since it has worked this far, I have decided to expand my collection.

So, I set out on my journey to find the basic ratio’s of how to make a cake from scratch with no recipe. I found two great websites with a basic idea of what weights should be when making a cake. I swiped a kitchen scale from my mom at our garage sale this weekend, so this was perfect… fate stepping in. So, I took all my notes, emailed my culinary-school-graduate-brother-in-law, and pulled out my kitchen scale.

I have a touch of a stomach bug today, so I am going to wait tomorrow to try my experiment. I will post pictures and let you  know how it turns out! 🙂 Wish me luck!!

Until next time,

Leave a Reply

