"Pick me, Pick me!"

So, recently there has been a lot of discussion about the movie Magic Mike and the book 50 Shades of Gray. I have left my comments on a few different social media status updates, and even wrote a short blog post about it here. But, I have not really led too much into the idea of what I feel, morally, about partaking in these things.

Let me first start with my review of the movie Magic Mike. I watched this movie, to the disappointment of many of my Christian friends. Why? I’m not gonna lie, the main reason I watched this movie is because it had Channing Tatum and Matthew McConaughey in it. However, I went into this movie expecting a dynamic storyline, because both of these men really are incredible actors, in my opinion. If you don’t know what this movie is about, it is about a group of male strippers. Dallas (Matthew McConaughry) owns a male revue club where Magic Mike (Channing Tatum) works as a male stripper. Through a series of events he brings in a new kid and the story unfolds to reveal their struggles. The movie reveals that this type of lifestyle often include promiscuity, drugs, and even betrayal. There are redeeming moments, for instance Mike gives up his life savings to help his friend when drug dealers come However, as a whole this story was poorly written, and it contained no strong story line – meaning they didn’t take any aspect of the story and run with it. None of the characters really grew throughout the movie, with the exception of Magic Mike deciding not to be a stripper anymore, however even that storyline wasn’t well written. Overall I was disappointed with this movie.

So…. now, let’s move into the discussion of this movie and the book in terms of morality. First, I will say that I haven’t read 50 Shades. I have had many friends whom have, and have told me their opinion of the book, and what the story is about. So, I am basing my opinion strictly on hearsay, where the book is concerned.

I will say that I saw this movie with an unbelieving friend, and I do not in any way feel that it hindered her ability to see Christ in me. In fact, I think maybe it did just the opposite. This movie has opened the door for her to see how I reacted to this movie and the things within it. I do not think that it is a black and white situation on seeing/reading things like this. I think that each person has to determine for themselves what God would say about it.

One friend asked me if I would see this movie if Jesus were sitting with me. My response… yes. I believe that he was sitting with me while I watched that movie, and I believe that he knew my heart and my intentions while watching the movie. None of which were lustful or sinful. I left this movie never having looked at those men thinking “wow, I want to get with him” and never have I imagined them when I am intimate with my husband. I love my husband, and the relationship that we have. Plain and simple.

As for the book, I haven’t read it, as I said. My reason is because this movie touches on the topics of sexual abuse, domination, and S&M. For me, I personally am unsure whether my heart has the ability to read these things without being affected and reminded of past events in my life. So, for that reason I haven’t read it and am unsure if I will. However, my main concern for this book is how that type of man is portrayed. Is he portrayed in a way that makes a domineering and controlling man seem desirable? If so, then it concerns me that a woman might look at this fictional character and start to think that it is acceptable for a man to treat her that way. I don’t ever want my daughter to think that it is acceptable or appropriate for a man to treat her in this manner. Now, I have heard that the woman in this story redeems herself by standing up to him in the end, but is that soon enough? Because for me, one minute in a relationship like this is far too long for my taste. But, again I haven’t read this book so I can’t attest to exactly how this man is portrayed. This is just my concern based on how a woman or girl might percieve this.

Basically, my opinion on the matters is that you can’t judge someone for seeing or reading something unless you know their intentions and what they take away from it. I think that rather than condemning someone else for seeing or reading something we need to take a loving approach and be Jesus for them. Asking them why they chose to see/read this and what they took from it. This will open the dialogue for positive and respectful conversation about it and possibly allow someone to impart wisdom.

Just my opinion!! I welcome your friendly comments. 🙂 Until next time!!

Aleah

Leave a Reply

