Book Review – Tough Guys and Drama Queens

I review books for the website www.booksneeze.com . Through this site I am given free books in exchange for my honest opinion.

I was recently given the book Tough Guys and Drama Queens: How not to get blindsided by your child’s teen years. This book is written by Mark Gregston.

I have to say that raising to overly dramatic children made me very excited to get this book and read it. I am always ready and willing to see what others say about surviving the years coming up. I was not disappointed by this book.

The book is divided into three sections.

  • What’s So Different About Today’s Culture?
  • Parenting Practices To Avoid
  • Parenting Practices That Really Work

Each section contains easy and practical tips for raising children through the teen years without losing your mind. It is all written with a very humorous outlook, including the introduction “What Duck Hunting Taught Me about Adolescence.”

I found this book to be a great read, but most of the practices I already implement in my parenting. Things like not expecting perfection, setting clear boundaries and punishments, fostering independence, and stop controlling. I did however love the sections on gender differences and picking your battles. I also loved the extra’s in this book on conversation starters, and how to discuss conflict.

This book would be great for anyone struggling with tough teenagers, or someone that is coming up on these years who doesn’t know what might be coming up.

Would you be interested in winning this book??
Leave your comment here with your toughest challenge as a parent or what you dread about the teen years. Get extra entries for letting me know you follow on the blog, facebook, and twitter. Recommend this page to a friend and get extra entries when they follow too!!!
One Comment Add yours

  1. Moe says:

    I think my hardest challenge as a parent is wondering if I'm failing them. It's hard to know if I'm raising them right. I try my very best every single day. At the end of the day do they really hear me when I say I love you for you, no matter what, "warts and all". I know my parenting style isnt for everyone, but I love my girls with all I have and I would walk through fire for and with them and I will always be there to support them, to comfort them, and to push them to keep trying. I'll keep telling them I love them and keep loving them always and I hope that it's enough.

    Like

Leave a Reply

