Kindness

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” Maya Angelou

A few years ago I made a decision to let people know what they had done in my life that made a difference to me. I am still working on this task. I have been contacting various people and just simply saying, “you did ____ and it made a difference for me because _____.” When I started this I had a few people at the top of my list; a college friend Aaron, a high school friend Jamie. I told them both what they had done to make a difference in my life.

I let Jamie know that she had made me feel good about myself in high school, because she wasn’t the type of person to segregate herself by “group” of friends… she was kind to everyone. During the crazy high school days, this made such an impact on my self-esteem. I let Aaron know, that on one particular day in college, he had made a point to be kind to me. On this day in particular, I was having a very difficult time and he noticed, gave me a hug, said some kind words, and told me a joke. He had no idea how much of an impact that made on my heart that day. It is something that to this day I still think of and smile.

I didn’t tell these people these things to hear them say, “thank you. you’re so nice.” I told them because it was true. I told them because for me, those small moments made such a great difference. I have continued to do this. Throughout my days, as I think of someone and something they did, I tell them. In the process of doing this, I have become more aware of how I am treating others and try to make a difference in someone else’s day.

I would like to challenge my readers to embark on this challenge with me. Take a few moments each day to let someone know you are thankful for them, that you love them, how they have made an impact in your life, or something of the like. I promise… it will change your heart more than it will theirs.

~aleah

Leave a Reply

