Musings From a Liberal Christian

Today I read a blog post by Jen Hatmaker, that inspired both love and hate from Christians and non-Christians alike. I would like to respond to this post and the things I have read and heard today in response to this.

Here is the link to the original article that Jen is referencing.

And, here is the link to Jen’s Facebook page where you can read about her thoughts on the topic.

So, the basic idea of Jen’s post is that as Christians we need to be more accepting of our homosexual friends. Now, before I state anything else I will say loud and proud I LOVE GAY PEOPLE.  I’m sorry if that upsets you or makes you uncomfortable, but I love gay people. I love them like I love everyone else in my life. Wholly, completely, and without bias or judgment. And, outside of this post, I don’t differentiate between “gay” and “straight” with the people in my life.

Next, to my gay readers: GOD LOVES YOU! If you hear nothing else for the rest of your life, hear that. God loves you! 

Too many homosexual individuals hear only the loud screaming voices that say things like, “God hates gays” or “You can’t be gay and Christian.” Too many homosexuals hear those ignorant statements and allow them to define who they are. I have known gay people in my life that have tried to commit suicide because they were told that God hated them. This breaks my heart in so many ways that I cannot even begin to explain it. I heard a woman today say one of those statements and I shuddered. WHO is she to make that statement?

I believe that the Bible says certain things on sin. However, I also believe that God commands us to love one another. I also believe that I can have a different belief system, set of choices, lifestyle, sexual preference, etc., etc., etc., than someone else and I can still love and support that person. I believe that God loves us all, we are His children. As a “parent” he loves us regardless of what choices we make; just as I love my children regardless of the choices they make.

So, while I don’t know many things, I know that God loves us all. I know that I support Jen Hatmaker and her post. And, I know that I am going to choose love in my life, and for those that I surround myself with I will choose to love them. Because, the God I serve calls me to love others and to come as I am.

I welcome your respectful thoughts and comments.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Tina says:

    Since I too know several gay people in my life, there is nothing on this earth that would make me love them any less. I completely agree with you on this. God loves everyone unconditionally!

    Like

Leave a Reply

