Lent Season

No, I’m not talking about the stuff from your dryer… This week starts the beginning of the Lent Season, the practice of making a sacrifice to symbolize the sacrifice Christ made for us.

I have seen a lot of really good Facebook posts about this with some really great ideas. I have also seen some Christians bashing the practice of Lent saying it isn’t a good practice. And, as expected, I have an opinion on this.

Whether a Christian or not the practice of sacrificing something you like/love/enjoy/etc. is, in my opinion, a good habit to start. We all need to take a step back and put something besides ourselves first. Whether you do this as a religious experience or not is beside the point. Sacrifice is a great way to remind us what we have and what others have given up for us to have what we have. (Excuse the grammar mistakes in that sentence. Ha ha)

So, as I prepare for this lent season I have thought over many things. I have tossed around the idea of giving up food based things (fried foods, soda, etc), but after much prayer and thought I have decided to focus my efforts on my words and thoughts. I am focusing on the Bible verse Psalm 19:14

“Let my words and my thoughts be pleasing to you, Lord, because you are my mighty rock and my protector.”

I see many people posting things on Facebook, and hear people saying things, that are negative, full of complaints, and just ugly. I don’t want to be that person. I get caught up in life sometimes and I fall victim to gossiping, complaining, and ugly talk… But that want who I want to be. I want my words and thoughts to reflect who I want to be, who I feel I really am… a kind person who speaks posivitity.

So, that’s it. My thoughts, my decision on what I am giving up. What are your thoughts? Will you participate in Lent? Why or why not? What are you giving up, if so? Share it all here.

Here are some ideas from Facebook…

“Yelling at my kids”
“Soda”
“Coffee Shop Coffee”
“Shows/Music with foul language”
“Junk Food”

So, let me know what you think!!!

Leave a Reply

