Day 1 – #danielfast

What am I doing? I am taking part in a 21 day fast called the Daniel Fast.

Why am I doing it? To grow closer to God. To focus on a few areas in my life that need prayer/attention/direction. To understand that I need to fill my physical “hunger” with spiritual things. I don’t always need to eat when I am eating. I don’t need all the crap that I do eat when I eat it. So, I am trying to make this work. It’s only 21 days, right? People have endured much more for much longer, surely I can stop eating crap for 21 days. What have I got to lose?

What I’m eating:

Breakfast: blueberries, bananas, snap peas, and water.

image

 

Lunch: Salad with lettuce, cucumber, black/red beans, green beans, snap peas, dry pan sauteed mushrooms, carrots, red/green/yellow/orange peppers, broccoli, tomatoes, avocado. No dressing. No drizzles.

IMAG1293

Dinner: Baked Potato, plain.
image

Hardest part of today: Avoiding the chips that my mom and dad brought from the Mexican restaurant. I failed. 😦 But, I’m moving on. It’s only day 1, right? I have 20 more days to get this right!

Key Verse for today:

Psalm 54:4 – Behold, God is my helper; the Lord is the sustainer of my soul.

Leave a Reply

