Day 2 – #danielfast

Well folks, day two is upon us, and well, let’s just say day one was easier!!! I did well sticking to the plan and avoiding “bad” foods, but the hunger has really gotten to me today. So, I decided to share with you some of the worst things I am finding on day 2. Disclaimer: You are about to enter Too-Much-Information-Landia.

If you do not want to enter this land, you should stop reading now…

Last chance.

Really, this is your last chance…

Okay, so you have been sufficiently warned. So here goes. In my short two days on this fast I am already learning a few things that are, let’s just say, not so pleasant. I have decided to make a list for you. (Aren’t you lucky?).

1. Hunger – okay, this is kind of an obvious answer, but seriously, my tummy is growling something fierce. I feel like Winnie The Pooh up in here with the rumblies in my tumbly.

2. Bloating – This is where the TMI comes into play. As you may well know, eating fruits and vegetables introduces your body to extra fiber. With extra fiber comes a few extra “benefits” that I wasn’t really wanting. Bloating and gas, and some extra poo. (Hey, don’t look at me, I warned you.) I’ve read these effects only last a couple of days and then they go away. I’m hoping this is true, but just in case I have some gas pills (it’s not natural, but I have to work in an office, and I’m pretty sure the ladies I work with appreciate this small concession).

3. Headaches – I wasn’t really expecting this side effect, because I don’t consume a lot of caffeine. I’m hoping that this lingering ache in my brain today is because of the storm front moving in and that it will go away soon.

4. Lots of pee – Alright, we all know that to aid in detoxification you need to drink water, and lots of it. So, that’s what I have been doing. I have been making potty stops about every hour! Ugh! I am also noticing tonight that my legs are puffy and slightly swollen. This is something else I have heard is common and will go away in a day or two.

5. Icky Skin – I started adding extra water and extra fruits and veggies into my diet about 3 days before I actually started the fast, so my skin has successfully started the process of cleansing. Which is about as awesome as it sounds!! So, if you see me over the next few days and I look like a 15 year old, please bear with me. 🙂

6. Questions – this is possibly the most difficult side effect of the fast. Most people in this day and age don’t understand the process of fasting, or why someone would want to do it. So, trying to explain to someone why you are eating a restricted diet is difficult.

That’s about it for today. It’s not so bad. I haven’t had a lot of cravings today, and when I get hungry I just drink a whole bunch of water really fast, or grab a handful of grapes/blueberries and it seems to go away for a couple of hours longer.

Have you ever done a fast? What were your biggest struggles? Have you thought of doing a fast? Why or why not? I welcome your thoughts and comments!!

 signature

Leave a Reply

