Pray for Tre #standuptocancer

I have tried for days to find the words to write what is in my heart, but for some reason I can’t. My dear friend found out this week that her young son has cancer… alveolar rhabdomyosarcoma (ARMS) to be exact. I have known this boy for many years. I have taught him in preschool, worked with him as a Parents As Teachers Educator, and seen him grow and change from a toddler into a sweet young boy. I have formed a very close relationship with his mom throughout the last few years also.

When his mom informed me of the diagnosis from the doctor, my heart sank. As a mother, my heart broke at the despair she must be feeling. As a friend, my heart broke at the pain her entire family must be dealing with. A million things have raced through my mind in the last couple of days. I am a fixer. I want to fix things for people and myself. I want a solution. So, I started thinking, how can I fix this? What can I do to help her? What can I do to help Tre? What can I do to ease this pain for their entire family?

Nothing. There is nothing I can do to take away the pain my friend is feeling. There is nothing I can do to fix this, or make it go away. No matter how badly I want to, this is not something “I” can fix. The only thing I can do is pray, listen, and be willing to assist in any way possible. I can also ask my friends to do the same.

So, if you are willing to help this family, please message me. If you have a church or friends that pray, please put the family on your prayer list. I will be on bended knee for this family until the time that Tre is cancer free.

signature

Leave a Reply

