Here I go… #paleolife

Well, I’ve decided to give this paleo thing a try. I have been looking at it for a while now (about 5 months) trying to decide if I want to do it or not. I have been talking with a friend over the last few days about her journey with paleo, and I have decided to give it a try for at least 40 days.

Why am I doing it?

Basically, I have been monitoring my eating habits and my symptoms (acne, tummy issues, headaches, weight issues etc.) for a while now and I have found that gluten (bread, pasta, etc.) causes my issues to flare up. I have severe migraines about 15 days out of each month, and I have random pains that just pop up and hurt me to the point of taking my breath away at times. It can be a dull aching pain that lasts for a few hours or a day or two, or can be a short sharp pain,  or stiff achy joints – none of which are comfortable – I was once diagnosed with fibromyalgia, but I refuse to accept that diagnosis. So, after talking with my friend, I have decided to give paleo a try and see if it can help.

Do I think I have a gluten allergy? No, not really. Do I think that gluten doesn’t process well in my system? Yes.

What it means – 

I will do my very best to avoid all grains and processed food for 40 days – longer if I see positive results. I will eat a diet high in proteins, fruits, and vegetables. I will do my best to avoid dairy, although I will most likely still consume some dairy. I will try to plan my meals in advance so that I am less likely to backslide.

Does this mean I will make meals unbearable for those around me? No, I will simply eat what I can and not eat what I can’t. I will continue to enjoy mealtimes with my family and friends, and if they can’t or don’t accommodate my new meal plan, I will simply eat later or before. This is my journey, not theirs. I will make two meals at home – one for me, one for my husband and kids. If they decide to eat what I am fixing, then so be it… but again, I stress, this is my journey, not theirs.

Why 40 days?

I have spent some time in prayer about this decision. I didn’t just decide at the drop of a hat to cut out these foods. I have spent a long time carefully considering if this is the right plan for me, how long I will give my initial try, and how I will adapt my current diet to these changes. I have talked to people close to me and asked their opinions, I have talked to people who practice paleo, and I have scoured the internet for resources. I chose 40 days, simply because of the presence of that number in the Bible. 40 is a number that appears many times, and for specific reasons in the Bible. Also, it takes 30 days to establish a habit – so, I figure this gives me a few extra days to really focus on whether or not this is working for me.

Will I exercise?

Complete honesty and transparency here – probably not. I have been walking several times a week with my family or my best-friend. I will continue that, but other exercise is going to have to come later. Here’s why. I am not under any misconceptions that this will be an easy process for me. I know this will be difficult, trying, and most likely uncomfortable for a while. I am not trying to add exercise onto my list of difficult tasks. Because, honestly, exercise is difficult for me. I am not naturally motivated to exercise. It’s not something I love. I want to love it, but I don’t. So, for that reason, exercise will come later – after I have established my new eating patterns.

I figure if I start this new plan tomorrow, then I will be well on my way to having established this whole thing by the time we leave for California in July. I’ll be honest, I’m nervous as heck right about now. I am going to try to blog about this experience as much as I can, but let’s be honest – I’m not super consistent right now. Also, I want to make sure I am focusing on this for the right reasons, and not for the wrong reasons; and I fear that blogging about it often will be more of a hindrance than a help – so we will just have to see how that works out.

I have spent some time searching for a food list, made up my grocery/meal plan for the week, and tomorrow I will go to the store and shop for myself and my family. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

