Sometimes Parenting Sucks…

When I started this blog, I promised to be authentic. That meant the good, the bad, and the ugly.  Well, tonight you are getting it… the ugly that is.

As my title states, sometimes parenting sucks. Sometimes, it’s messy and complicated, and you end the day feeling more like a mental patient than a parent. I have days, like today, that end in tears. Days that make me feel like every decision, every word, every moment has been a complete and utter failure.

Today was one of those days. Yesterday was one of those days. In fact, the last week has been day after day of those kind of days. My children have been difficult, to put it nicely, and I have just not been feeling this whole parenting thing. In fact, tonight I told my husband, “I AM DONE! I can’t do this anymore! I am ready to leave the house and never come back!”

Harsh words, I know, but some days I honestly feel that way (at least staying gone for a day or two… not forever). I see people with big families and my first thought is never “Why would you want so many children?” It’s always, “How does that mom keep her sanity? I only have two and I am going crazy some days!”

I like to think that my children just get bored because they are so smart, and they need more to keep them entertained. My children honestly aren’t content to sit day in and day out watching television… and I don’t want them to. I suppose my days would be easier if I allowed the television to baby-sit for me… but, I just can’t do that all day. I’m not saying I don’t ever do it, because I totally do… just not all day every day. However, I think the real reason my children fight is because I have a 10 year old boy starting to get all those stupid hormones, and a diva little 6 year old girl.

Because of these differences my children are at odds a good majority of the time. Some days (few and far between, and only for a short time when it happens) my children are the best of friends, they play nicely and don’t fight. Then other days, I truthfully wonder what weird intergalactic creature has inhabited my beautiful, nice children.

I love my children dearly, but some days I want a serious vacation from being a mommy.

How many of my mommy (or daddy) friends out there feel me?

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sara Boyd says:

    I feel you 100%. When Carl and I got married we only had Tyler in the house. We went through a rough patch with him that ended in me actually kicking him out (or at least he thought) and sending him to live with his dad since he thought that following our rules was such a terrible thing. Anyway, needless to say he was home in a month and has been great ever since. Then came the addition of other children….. I could go on forever telling the whole detailed story but for your sake I will condense it. December 30, 2011 – Mason is born. August 10, 2012 – we gain custody of Carl’s 14 year old daughter, 12 year old daughter and 9 year old son. January 5, 2013 – Jackson is born. We went from 1 child to 6 in a year. Now we have relocated and doing disaster reconstruction which means I am in Texas with the 6 kids while Carl is working his butt off doing storm repair 5 hours away in the Oklahoma City area. So, when you are looking at these families with lets say 6 kids (lol) and wondering how the mother is keeping it together here is the secret, she isn’t 🙂 It is all a show for the public and all she really wants to do is go home, have a glass of wine and hide in the bathroom – unfortunately there is no wine in the house and what mother of a child under 2 actually gets to go to the bathroom alone. Ha!!! Hope this makes you smile and makes your night a little bit better. 🙂

    Like

    1. 🙂 I love this!! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

      Like

  2. Tina Millsap says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more! Amen sister!!

    Like

  3. i want to thank you for this informative read, i really appreciate sharing your post. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

    Like

Leave a Reply

