Confession #backtoschool

I need to confess something today, friends. My morning routine isn’t as put together as I would like to imagine it is. Shocking, right?

It has gotten the best of me the last few days. I realized this yesterday, as I was walking through the school hallway and saw my son. He did his usual duck and blush, and I did my best to not embarrass him. As this happened, I observed his clothing. I didn’t remember it from just a few hours before. Then, something else came to me. Guilt. In a smashing, crushing wave, guilt overtook me.

I had the weirdest thoughts running through my mind.  What if my son were missing, would I be able to tell the police what he was last wearing? This sounds morbid, but tragedy happens. Communities, much like ours, all across the country are reeling from tragedies. Amber alerts ring out almost daily on missing children. One important piece of information fills each and every one… clothing. What the missing person was last wearing.

I stood in the school hallway thinking about those things, suddenly overwhelmed with the realization that our morning routine was consuming me. My fight for the last few days to keep it together, to be organized, to make the routine run as smoothly as possible… all of that was in vain. I have done all that I can to keep it together – preparing as much as I can the night before. The problem has been that I haven’t been feeling well, I have been sleeping in a bit – and well, that has completely destroyed our mornings.

I don’t really have a solution to this problem. I just hope that I will start feeling better soon, and we can get things back to normal. I don’t want to be the mom that misses things because we are rushed. I don’t want to be the mom yelling, “HURRY UP!!!” on a daily basis.

How do you combat the stress of rushed schedules?

Leave a Reply

