Christmas Traditions

Christmas is my favorite time of year. I love the feeling in the air. When I think of Christmas, I think of the song “Silver Bells.”

City sidewalks, busy sidewalks, dressed in holiday style.
In the air, there’s a feeling of Christmas.
Children laughing, people passing, meeting smile after smile.
And, on every street corner, you hear.
Silver Bells, Silver Bells

I love those words. The thought of every corner of the town being decked out like a scene from a winter movie. Ahhh… Because Christmas is my favorite time of year, I love Christmas traditions. I want everyone around me to have the same movie version of Christmas in their heads like I do.

When I was growing up we had several types of Christmas traditions. Here are my favorites.

1.) Christmas Eve – We have always done something special on Christmas Eve in my family. When I was small we went to Aunt Debbie and Uncle Ben’s house; then, when I was older, we went to Aunt DeEttra and Uncle Darrell’s house. We would always open a small gift, have snacks, and be silly. When we were smaller, all us kids would always make up a play and perform for everyone. Today, as an adult, we spend Christmas Eve with my husband’s side of the family. I miss the time spent with my side of the family, and long for the memories that my kids will miss out on making, but I know they are making memories with the other side of their family too.

2.) French Onion Dip and Fights – When my dad was alive, we would go to my Aunt Janelle’s house. One of my favorite memories is making french onion dip with my Grandma T, and sitting down to color – we did this EVERY Christmas. After dinner, it never failed that someone would say something that made someone else mad… and the fight would start. Everyone would scream and yell, in our loud German voices, and then everyone would leave in a huff. It sounds terrible, but it is honestly one of my favorite memories.

3. Baking – My mom and I always baked. Fudge, peanut brittle, caramel corn, rock candy, pies… the list goes on. We would bake and bake and bake. I loved it!!! I try to do this with my kids, but I don’t like to have all the snacks around my house – because then I will eat them. I am going to get better about this tradition with my kids.

4. The Elf – As an adult, and with my own kids, we have started a Christmas tradition of watching “The Elf.” We love this movie, it is so funny, and kid appropriate!! We watch it every year.

5. “YOU’LL SHOOT YOUR EYE OUT KID!!”  I love this movie!!! If you don’t know which movie this is – you must have lived in a far off land, or under a rock. This movie was a staple in my life growing up, I have a “You’ll Shoot Your Eye Out” shirt, and a leg lamp now.

6. Breakfast – I love breakfast on Christmas morning. When I was little, my aunt and uncle would always make biscuits and gravy. My mom always makes cinnamon rolls now. I love the tradition of having the same thing every year – it’s like comfort food. When I eat these foods now, I always find myself feeling these warm fuzzies, brought on by the memory of eating those foods on Christmas morning.

I have so many more memories and traditions from the Christmas season, but these are my favorites!

What are your favorite Christmas Traditions?

~ Aleah

Leave a Reply

