Why I won’t be making a resolution

Something about New Year’s resolutions makes me cringe. Every year I succumb to the pressure of those around me, and I make my list. And then it starts… the pressure of living up to something I know I will never meet.

I become so caught up in meeting the goals, that I get overwhelmed. And within a couple of months, or weeks really, I am failing. Then the negative self talk starts, and I begin to feel horrible about myself. Why do I let this happen, year after year?

Not this year!! I decided to go about this stuff differently this year. New Year’s resolutions started somewhere in the time of the Babylonians and Romans as a way to offer promises of paying off debt, a re-commitment of services, and a time of prayer and self-recognition.

A couple of weeks ago I had a major surgery, and with it came a major complication… something that in all reality could have ended my life. In the last two weeks since this event, I have tried to figure out how I can, with my feeble and meaningless life, become someone who matters. Someone who makes a difference, so that hopefully when my life has ended, someone will have been touched in some way.

This year, rather than making resolutions, I have decided to make goals. Simple goals to work toward that will hopefully make a difference to someone.

Here’s the list.

1. Write. This seems like something meaningless to many people, but to me this is major. I know in my soul that I was created to write. I know without a doubt that God has called me to be a writer, and I have squandered this talent. I want to try to write something each day, and would like to complete another novel by the end of this year.

2. Pray. I want to have a more meaningful relationship with the God I serve. I want to move further into this idea of “relationship” and further away from the idea of “religion.”

3. Service. I want to strive to do something each day that will make a difference to another person. Even if it’s saying hello to someone I don’t know, or leaving quarters in the vending machine at work. I want to pay it forward.

4. Love. I want to love openly. With all of my heart, and with true and honest abandon. I want to give everything to everyone I love. I don’t want anyone around me to ever wonder if they have been loved, I want them to know without a doubt that they are loved.

5. Time. I want to really work on time management this year. I want to know that the things I do matter, and that the way I am spending my time isn’t being consumed with meaningless things like social media and television. I want to really offer myself and my time to those around me.

These are small changes. Things that I feel are the most important things that need to happen in my life to know that I am on the right track.

Do you make resolutions or goals, or do you avoid it all? I would love to hear what your thoughts are on this!!

~Aleah

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Tina Millsap says:

    Aleah, it’s like you read my mind. My resolutions this year are not about losing weight…although I won’t turn that down. Mine are about becoming closer to God, being a better Christian and letting people see Him through me.

    I too am going to pay it forward more than I have been. I want people to know that they are loved, and that there are people out there that love everybody.

    Most of all, I want my children and my husband to never, ever doubt how much I love them.

    Like

    1. Agreed!!! I want my focus to be on my family and making sure they never doubt I love them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

