Tried & True VS. Something New

We are putting our tried and true football and/or tailgating recipes up against some new recipes that we are dying to try. Here’s our list.

Tried and True

Aleah

1. Cheeseburger Ring – Easy and delicious. cb ring

Talking about this made me hungry for it, so I made one, just to get the pic. It’s easy. Brown a pound of hamburger, drain and rinse. In a bowl combine 1/4 cup ketchup and mustard, 1/2 cup shredded cheese, and hamburger… mix well. Arrange crescent rolls in a circle on a pan, fill with HB mix, top with pickle slices (I usually chop my pickles and mix it in with the hb). Wrap the crescent rolls over the top, as show above, and bake on 350 for about 10-15 mins (depends on oven… just make sure the crescent rolls are done all the way through). Remove from the oven, add lettuce and tomato to center for a garnish, and enjoy.

2. Veggie Platter.

veggie plate
picture from google.com

This is lame, I know, but I love a good veggie platter with some ranch dip. Easy, healthy, and yummy.

Moe

1. Pigs in a Blanket

piggies
Picture from google.com
I love these little hot dogs! They’re simple and fun and perfect for when you want a hotdog, but there’s so much other food you want too, that a bite is all you can manage. You need two things: Crescent rolls and a pkg of Beef lit’l smokies. Preheat your oven to what the crescent rolls call for. All you do is rip off a strip of crescent roll that’s big and long enough to wrap around the middle of a lil’ smokie, and pinch it together. Usually a good rule of thumb is just to make sure the ends are sticking out. Once all the “piggies” are wrapped up,
place on an ungreased cookie sheet. You can fit a lot on there, but just make sure they have a space in between each. Touchy me no likey! 😉 Bake them the amount of time as the crescent roll pkg directs or until golden brown (not to be confused with it’s cousin, dark brown, which would mean your hotdog bites are now one step away from burnt haha). Last but not least, enjoy.
2. Chili and mac and cheese.
image
My husband makes THE best homemade chili and mac and cheese. That is all. (Okay, maybe one day I will share the top secret recipe, but it is not this day).

 

Yummy and New

Monique

1. BLT Dip http://someoneleftthecakeoutintherain.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/touchdown-thursdays-blt-dip/
image
Every single time I look through my bookmarks and see this dip recipe, I drool on myself a little. I haven’t made it yet, because I never have enough people over to eat it. Okay HOH followers, someone make it already, so I can live through you! 😉
Can you eat bacon by osmosis?

2. Wings and Waffles
I don’t have a picture of the wings and waffles yet because we’re making them on Sunday. I will post one then. The plan is to make some savory waffles. I think we’ll add a little pepper and garlic salt to the mix and maybe a touch of paprika. The wings will probably be honeyed or we’ll dip them in honey BBQ (yummmmm)thus providing the sweet element. We like putting a twist on classic recipes. Maybe we can make it stick. We can even name it something fun! W2? No, that’s making me remember I need to do my taxes :(. W and W? Too close to A&W I think. Wings and Waffles it is!! Haha Whatever I end up calling it, I assure you it’s gon’ be gooooood!!
image

Aleah

1. Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches
Recipe and Photo from: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Slow-Cooker-Buffalo-Chicken-Sandwiches/?prop24=hn_slide1_Slow-Cooker-Buffalo-Chicken-Sandwiches&evt19=1

The link to this recipe is in the caption under the photo. I can’t wait to try these!!

2. Hot Pizza Dip

Photo and Recipe from http://www.food.com/recipe/hot-pizza-dip-2687
Photo and Recipe from http://www.food.com/recipe/hot-pizza-dip-2687

I can’t wait to try this recipe on Superbowl Sunday!!! We are pizza people, so I am excited about this! I think I will throw some pepperoni or maybe some sausage into this to put my own little spin on it! 🙂 Link to recipe in caption of photo.

Leave a Reply

