Colorful Love

I have spoken a lot about authenticity on here, mostly because that is a goal that I have in my own life… to live authentically. Authenticity, for me, is about living the life that I was created to live. It is so much more than “being real” and allowing others to see me for me. It is about truly living as I was created to live.

For me, I know without a shadow of a doubt that I was created to love. I was created to see the gray parts of the world – the parts of the world that others can’t, or don’t want to, see. This is especially true with religion. I strive to capture the best parts of many religions, and use those things to make myself the best person I can be. I want to passionately follow Jesus – to love him with all my heart and seek to follow him – as in the Christian faith that I have found my roots in. I want to find balance as in Taoism. I want to find peace as in Buddhism. I want to love freely, without strings. I want to look past labels and love because of who someone truly is.

Some in my family call me a liberal hippie, but I prefer to see myself as a free-thinker – someone who isn’t bound by particular ideas or “rules.” With this, I want to be a person that never stops growing, learning, and changing; and I know to do that I must remain fluid and flexible. I believe that from this, comes true authenticity.

I want to be the kind of person that is the same all the time. I want to be the same person in-front of my pastor as I am in-front of my friends. I don’t want to hide certain parts of myself to appease others.

I want to be the person that loves with all of my heart, for everyone I meet. I want to be the person that people think of and smile – because I have made a difference in their life. I want to be the person that is genuine… real… me. I want to be the person that is able to see in colors.

Leave a Reply

