What I’ve Learned in my 30’s

I am going to be 33 soon… gulp… and I’ve learned a few things in my 30’s that I wanted to share here.

1. Pee. It happens. A lot. If you aren’t a mother, or an aging person you will never understand just how serious I am about this. Sneeze – pee. Cough – pee. Laugh – you guessed. Jumping up and down – forget it!!

2. Fat. Let’s face it… this isn’t a winter coat, or a little extra “chubbiness.” And these aren’t love handles. It’s fat. Let’s just call it what it is. The fat comes, and it stays. It finds a warm little spot on your thighs or your ass and it just sets up camp – cellulite and all.

3. Not-so-beauty-Sleep. I woke up one day, looked in the mirror, and thought “Oh my God, what is Hagrid doing in my house!?” Then I realized it was my own reflection. Yeah, it’s scary to look in the mirrors in the mornings… or anytime (see #2).

4. Wrinkles. Okay these things are little bitches. I’m just going to say it. They are. One day you have beautiful smooth skin, the next you look like an old piece of leather. And, don’t even get me started on “adult acne.”

5. Children. I’m not talking about the little shorties that run around in school houses around the world. I’m talking about the smart-mouthed, sassy, hateful teenagers. I don’t remember when it happened, but there was a moment in which I thought, “UGH! Kids these days.” It was also at that point that I realized I probably needed to grab my snuggie and my knitting needles, and cozy up for bed around 7pm. Yes, I’m old. But seriously, kids these days.

6. Bills. I don’t need to say anything else.

7. Time. At a certain point, you start to realize that time is precious. You have more people around you dying than you care to deal with, and you are suddenly thrust into the unfamiliar world of planning for “what if,” because “what if” is happening all around you.

8. Bed-time with the sunset. Okay, I’m not quite this bad, but I have been caught (on more occasions that I care to admit to) falling asleep on the couch at 8pm. Midnight doesn’t sound so great when you know that you have to wake up at 6am and face Hagrid – and you have to make her look presentable.

9. Calories, fat, salt, and other stuff. You have to watch these things… see #2… but also because you start to understand that your body isn’t what it used to be. And now, you have to worry about high blood pressure and high triglycerides.

10. Peace. Not all things about the 30’s are bad. In my 30’s I have found peace and happiness. I still have moments of insecurity and doubt, but for the most part I have found how to be at peace with myself and the woman I am becoming.

Has there been a particular age that has been hard for you? We would love to hear your stories.

~Aleah~

Leave a Reply

