My Sis’s Salisbury Steak

When I was younger my sister made this yummy meal for dinner one night.  I remember thinking that when I was older I really wanted to learn how to make it. Well, the time has come my friends. I called her and here it is.

Here are the ingredients I used:

  • 2 lbs. ground meat (I used one lb. ground turkey and one lb. beef this time)
  • 1 c. Italian bread crumbs
  • onion powder
  • black pepper
  • splash of milk
  • (optional) egg
  • (also optional) slivered onions or mushrooms… or both 🙂

Okay, here we go. Place your ground meat in a large mixing bowl (you want room to mix it with your hands). Sprinkle a dusting of black pepper over the top. Next shake a liberal amount of onion powder all over the meat. After that you can add your cup of bread crumbs and a splash of milk. You can heat up a large, non-stick pan to medium/high heat before you form the patties. (My sis advises that you spray the pan with cooking spray too, but I didn’t, just so ya know)

Now comes the time for the mixing. Since I used ground turkey and beef, I tend to not use an egg, but you can if you’d like. I just find that it gets way too wet and then you have to add more bread crumbs to balance it out (probably another 1/2 cup or so). My sis recommends one egg per pound of beef used, but I usually only use 1 egg, if I use one at all. 🙂 Once you’ve mixed it all, you’ll want to shape the meat into six evenly-sized, football-shaped patties. They’ll be rounded like footballs too. Don’t worry about flattening them though, they will cook just fine like that.

Now that your pan is hot, place each one in the pan (a large, non-stick pan is best to fit them all). You’re only going to do one flip. You’ll brown the meat on one side, then flip it once and while it’s browning on the other side, you’ll mix up your gravy. I use two packets of gravy and whisk in the two cups of cold water and pour over the patties. (You can peek at the bottoms to make sure they browned before you add the gravy) My sister uses canned gravy and says to use one can of gravy with a half can of water. She also adds slivered onions before she covers it to let it simmer, and a friend of mine adds slivered mushrooms to his.

Basically, once you’ve poured your gravy over it (and added your onions or mushrooms, or both haha) you just lower the heat, cover it and let it simmer for 40 minutes. You’ll want to stir the gravy occasionally. If it’s bubbling really strong, the heat is too high and your gravy will boil away and it might scorch. You just want it to bubble slightly; a nice, even simmer. And that’s it. It sounds like a lot, but once you do it, it’s really not that bad.

I have step by step pics of what everything looked like when I did it. I’m not the best cook, so sometimes just seeing what it looks like helps me feel better when I make something for the first time. Don’t worry, and if it doesn’t work out for whatever reason, cereal is a perfectly acceptable dinner option until you want to brave it again ;).

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image
image

image

image
Yum and enjoy! ♡Moe♡

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

