Homemade Corndogs

image

Everyone loves corndogs… especially the people in my house! So, I decided to try make and my own the other day. The first attempt was not so great – it wasn’t sweet enough and tasted gross. So, I messed with the recipe – added some stuff, dropped spoonfuls into hot grease and ate fried dough until I got the right taste. (I know, eating fried dough was a sacrifice, but I do it for you guys.)

They.were.fantastic. Everyone loved them!! That, of course, meant I had to share my recipe with all of you!

Homemade Corndogs

3/4 cup Cornmeal
3/4 cup Flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp nutmeg
4 tsp sugar
4 eggs, beaten
3/4 cup milk
1 tsp lemon juice
1/4 cup honey

Hot dogs
Skewers

On a plate: 4 tbsp cornstarch

Heat grease to 350*

In a bowl mix lemon juice and milk. Set aside.

In a second bowl mix cornmeal, flour, baking soda, baking powder, nutmeg, and sugar. Set aside

Mix together milk mixture, eggs, and honey. Combine well. Add to dry ingredients and mix well.

When mixed well, pour into a tall glass.

Place skewers into hot dogs, rub hot dogs lightly with cornstarch.

Using skewer, dip covered hotdogs into batter, and drop into grease. Cook 3 mins.

** Because of the honey, the batter will brown quickly – way before the hot dogs are warm inside. I found that turning the grease temp down helped, as well as heating the hot dogs first. To do this I just placed them on a pan in the oven on 350* while I prepped the batter. Then using tongs skewered them. This worked out way better and I was able to cook the dogs to a perfect golden color.

image

Leave a Reply

