I Did it All For the Wookiee…Cookie

I found the most awesome chewy, cookie dough recipe over Spring break and a template to decorate the cookies like Chewbacca the Wookiee from Star Wars!! This was by far THE most fun I’ve had trying a recipe in awhile. I’m not sure if I’ve addressed that I am a big Star Wars fan yet. I AM!! So when I saw a picture of the “Wookiee” cookies on FB, I declared then and there that I WOULD be making them. After a quick search I found them. Shout out to: http://www.diamondsfordessert.com for the awesome templates and cookie diagrams (just search chewie wookiee cookies on her site if you want to see the painting templates)  and for sharing Cook’s Illustrated’s awesomely delicious Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe!! (Moe bows to the cookie Gods and says: “We’re not worthy”)

Here’s your ingredient list to make some Chewie cookies:

  • 2 cups + 2 tbsp flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 sticks (12 tbsp) butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk, room temperature
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp salt

Chocolate to decorate with:

  • 1/2 bag of milk choc. chips
  • 1/4 bag of white choc. chips (maybe less even) Note: you use very little to make the teeth and dots on the belt

Preheat oven to 325ºF. Mix the dry ingredients: the flour, salt and baking soda, together in a bowl and set aside. In another bowl, mix the butter and two sugars together. Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla, and mix. Now add the dry ingredients and mix until an even dough forms.

Note: If you’re making the choc. chip cookies, add in the chocolate chips and mix until evenly distributed.

You can use 1/4 cup portions (this is what I used and it made 13 cookies) or 2 tbsp portions (which I assume will make 26 or so). Scoop out and measure your dough and shape each portion into a ball. Then pull each ball into two equal pieces. Turn both pieces so that the jagged side of each half faces upwards to the ceiling and then squish them back together. Then lay them on the cookie sheets. (About 6 to 8 doughballs to a sheet if you’re making the bigger ones.) 

Cool template, right? (Glad I didn’t have to make it though haha)

For the larger cookies, bake for 12-15 minutes, (mine went the full 15) and for the smaller cookies, bake for 8-12 minutes, or until the edges begin to brown and set and the centers are still soft and puffy. Do not overbake. Take them out of the oven and let them finish baking on the sheets, placing the baking sheets on cooling racks.

 

 

Aleah let me use her kitchen to bake, so I set all my ingredients out in front of me and preheated the oven.

wpid-20140326_103937.jpg

 

Pretty standard recipe, dry ingredients in one bowl, flour, salt, and baking soda.image

And melted butter and two sugars in the other. I have to confess that I didn’t let the melted butter cool very much and when I added the egg here, you notice there aren’t two yolks yet? I completely goofed up and started to add extra egg white haha. Don’t do that friends. Yolk, yolk, yolk!! Think Pee-wee’s Playhouse (you know, I had to look that up and had no clue that his name was hyphenated like that…weeeeeiiiirdd), anyway, the word of the day is: YOLK!! image

image

Okay I used the 1/4c. scoop to make these giant suckers. I have to admit, I thought to myself: why would anyone make a cookie ball, break it in half, point the halves up, and then smoosh it back together before they bake cookies? But you know what? Those babies were the biggest, fluffiest creations I’ve ever made. It made 13. image

Plus, who doesn’t like a cookie that’s entire bottom is dipped in chocolate?!! (raises hand and shouts: please sir, I want some more!) Check out the size of that cookie in my hand!! Told you they were HUGE!!image

I used the template and a clean, soft, and slighty stiff paintbrush that I use only for baking projects to paint on my chocolate. It’s not as hard as you think. Just take your time. To melt your chocolate do it in 15 second intervals in the microwave. Stir after each 15 seconds. It usually only needs about three times maybe four. Do NOT do the melting all at once! It doesn’t go faster if you put it in for 45 seconds instead of 15, it just burns your chocolate.  I also like to add a capfull of canola or vegetable oil to my chocolate. This helps it to harden quicker after you paint it on (think magic shell). 🙂 If your chocolate hardens before you get them all painted, don’t freak out. Just pop the chocolate back in the microwave for another 15 seconds and it should melt again for you.  image

Here are the finished cookies with the white chocolate teeth and ammo belt finished. I used a toothpick to do these parts. Don’t worry about it looking perfectly square. You can see that I didn’t do it absolutely perfect, and it still looks great! 🙂 There you have it! For the inner Star Wars geek in all of us, or just for a reason to eat cookies, this recipe is a keeper! Enjoy! image

I took a picture of Aleah’s choc. chip cookies that she got from the same recipe, only adding the choc. chips TO the dough instead of painting them on haha. She said that hers were a little harder than mine were when they cooled. The only thing she did differently from me, is she didn’t melt her butter entirely. She just used room temperature butter that was very soft. Maybe that’s why. :/ It’s a mystery. 🙂 imageWhat’s your favorite type of cookie?

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54492-121-CB15FC70384D2F8770FC6A360043D4A3

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

