That’s a Good Meatball!

It’s a well-known fact to those who know me that I love to eat. One of my favorite meals is spaghetti and meatballs. Today, I’m going to share my meatball recipe. My kids and hubby always get excited when I make meatballs, and this is high praise because normally daddy does all the cooking. But he defers to me for the meatballs. 🙂

Ingredient list for this recipe:
Note: this recipe works best if you are making an all-day sauce

▪ 1 lb ground turkey
▪ 2 lbs ground beef
▪ 3 pieces of bread (cut into small cubes)
▪ 1 egg
▪ Goya Adobo All purpose seasoning
▪ Italian seasoning
▪ Onion powder
▪ Garlic salt
▪ Salt and pepper

There will be no measuring this time. This recipe and Salisbury steak are about the only two things I make, that I don’t measure. It’s more about coating the meat, than being exact.

The obvious first step is: all your meat goes into a big bowl. (Big enough for you to mix everything without it spilling over the sides)

image

I like to have all my spices out and ready. I usually uncap them all too.

image

I use a liberal amount (a heavy shaking) of onion powder first, all over the top of the meat. Next I use the Adobo. You want more of a dusting then a coating (think of like powdered sugar just enough to show you put some on) A little goes a long way so shake it easily but evenly over the meat. Go easy on the Italian seasoning too. I don’t coat with it. Just three or four shakes. Garlic salt and salt and pepper are the same as the Italian seasoning, just three or four shakes. (Sorry about the blurry pic)

image

Take your three slices of bread and cut them into small cubes. Use a serrated knife. It will cut through the soft bread better.

image

Add the bread to your mixture and turn your skillet on to medium/high heat. I use a non-stick one.

image

Next add your egg.

image

Now mix it up with your hands. Yes it will feel gross, yes it will feel slimy, and yes it will make good meatballs in the end.

image

I like to sprinkle just a little more onion powder over the top once it’s mixed.

image

Then you form your meatballs. Try to make them even so that when you fry them in the pan they can all be turned at the same time and then be transferred to the sauce at the same time.

image

Place them in the hot pan and you’ll immediately hear a hiss sound. That’s okay, it just means that your pan is nice and hot and ready to go. You want to turn them when they get brown on one side. This could take a minute or two. Don’t keep checking them. An easy way to check if they’re ready to turn over, is to give your pan a little shake. If they stay put or just slide around, they’re not ready. If one of them rolls, chances are they’re all brown on one side.

image

I partially cook mine (I try to get them mostly brown with just a little pink showing)and then put them in my all-day sauce and let them cook slowly for 5-6 hrs until dinner; stirring occasionally.

image

I sink them down in the sauce with my ladle, and patiently await the goodness to come. You won’t have to season your sauce as much either when you add these meatballs to it. 🙂

image

If you have any questions or comments feel free, and as always, enjoy! 🙂

image

Leave a Reply

