Oh My, Baked Apple Pie!

Howdy HOH peeps!! It’s been forever! I’m such a slacker blog hostess. Sorry. But I’m here now and I have another “I tried that recipe from pinterest” for ya. 🙂 I saw these little apple pies on pinterest that were made inside the apple. Genius, by the way. Aleah and I were commending the glorious inventors of all of these recipes. Then I thought, I bet whoever created these were thinking something like this: I don’t want to make a pie crust and roll it out and deal with all of that fuss, so how can I make this simpler? I know, I’ll just bake it inside the apple! Yes! I’m so smart! (okay, so honestly that’s how I would act if I had come up with it)

Anywho, off I went to Aleah’s house to make the pies. I figured the kiddos could all try it when I was done since the recipe makes four. I suppose we should start off with the ingredient list.

  • 1 pie crust
  • 6 granny smith apples
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1 tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon (you can add more if you like)

I made it just like the recipe, but there are things that I would change and I’ll let you know along the way. First thing you need to do is preheat your oven to 375 degrees, while you create your masterpieces (heehee okay so it’s just scooping out apples). Take four of your apples and cut off the very top of them. Note: I tried to pick the apples that stood up straight the best, so I’d have less of a headache later. If the apple was leaning, I just picked a different one. Next you want to take a spoon and carefully scoop out the insides (the apple guts) of the apple. You want to keep the skin intact and remember that you’ll be using this as your pie holder so it needs to be sturdy. Just take your time with this part and you’ll do fine.

wpid-wp-1404843745820.jpeg

 

After you’ve scooped out 4 apples, set them aside and start peeling the other two. Note: I found that I didn’t actually need all of the apple that two yielded, but I packed those suckers full anyway. Peel, core and slice very thin, the two leftover apples and then chop them into small pieces. Throw the pieces in a small bowl, add the sugars and cinnamon, and your filling is ready. Fill up the waiting apples. Note: Before you fill them, if you already have your pie crust out you can cut off a small piece and press it into the bottom of your apple. The recipe suggests it and I tried it. I think it worked just fine.

wpid-wp-1404843740405.jpeg

Now you’re ready to top these bad boys. It says to measure the pie crust into 1/4 inch strips, but I’m not that patient, so I just kind of guessed haha. It’s pie crust. As long as you get some of it over the top it counts as pie…right? ;). hahaha. I just made 6 strips for each apple and used the pic on the recipe to make it look nice and lattice-y (what? it’s a word). Note: I didn’t even need one entire crust, let alone the two that come in the package. Keep that in mind if you only make 4. You’ll have some leftover crust.

wpid-wp-1404843735904.jpeg

Once they had their little tops on, Aleah and I decided to change dishes. The recipe called for 8X8 but all we had was a smaller white baking dish and an 8X11 dish. We changed over to 8X11. Then you take water and just cover the bottom of the dish (basically the water will just touch the very bottoms of the apples) and cover it in foil.

wpid-wp-1404843731659.jpeg

 

 

 

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes with the foil on. Then remove the foil and bake an additional 20 minutes or until the crust is golden brown.

wpid-wp-1404843727431.jpeg

 

I brushed a little melted butter over the tops when they were done and sprinkled on a little sugar too.

wpid-wp-1404843720583.jpeg

 

I cut one open just to show how pretty they look inside too. And it cut open like a dream. Just one slice and all that goodness was oozing out. They were a big hit with my girlies, who have already been asking for more. I bow to you pinterest recipe geniuses. Go! Go make these baked apple pies! You won’t regret it. 🙂

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54492-121-CB15FC70384D2F8770FC6A360043D4A3

What’s you’re favorite kind of pie?

Leave a Reply

