Bon Voyage, Binka

I wrote this nice long post about how I had taken away my daughter’s “binka”, a.k.a her pacifier. I can’t remember what I wrote, but it was full of wit and funny little references, but now it has gone to that big, cyber void in the sky. So now my post will be short and sweet instead. Well, as short and sweet as a person who talks as much as me can make it. I took the binka away a week and a half before vacation. I failed to recognize that she had already had a huge change in her life the week before when we removed the side of her crib. Needless to say, taking the binka away increased the occurrence of her getting out of her bed. I was just about at the end of my rope, when my hubby took pity on me and put the side of the crib back up. There’s only so much you can handle between cries for Binka up and down the hallway, and dragging the 31 pound child back to bed over a dozen times. Something had to give. But it was not the binka. There were tears, there were tantrums, and there were violent requests, but we prevailed and the binka is no more. When school starts again, I’ve decided to tackle potty-training. Excuse me while I pass out! 😉

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54492-121-CB15FC70384D2F8770FC6A360043D4A3

How did you take away the dreaded pacifier? Did you wean your kid off it or did they quit cold turkey?

Leave a Reply

