Homemade Sunscreen

We have had a pretty mild summer here in the Midwest. However, the need for sunscreen has still been around.

If you are like me, you have read all the articles on all the good and bad things about each type of sunscreen. Then, if you are like me, you have worried yourself sick over which to choose.

Enter Aunt Debbie. (Remember her from a few weeks ago in the laundry soap post?) Aunt “Makes it all herself” Debbie.

I have been trying plain coconut oil on myself, the great results, but have been anxious to try it on my kiddos. I don’t want to be responsible for that one bad burn that harms them at some point down the road. I want their skin to be soft, wrinkle free, and cancer free as long as possible.

So, I discussed this with Aunt Debbie, and she gave me some of her homemade sunscreen. I was hooked.

It’s very simple.

Mix together:
2 oz Zinc Oxide (remember the life guards with white noses? That’s zinc.)
3 oz Coconut Oil (room temp)

Store in an airtight and leak proof container.

image

Enjoy!!

What’s your favorite “from scratch” recipe?

image

Leave a Reply

