8X8 Chocolate Cake

Oh my Lanta my HOH peeps!!! Have you seen that recipe floating around for the cake that you make all in the same pan? Well tonight, I made it and it is THE BOMBDIGGITY!! I always wonder when I see a recipe like this if it’s really that easy and if it tastes good. Believe me, this one does!

Let me get straight to the ingredients so you can make this wonderful slice of deliciousness. πŸ™‚

Dry ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c. flour (all-purpose)
  • 3 tbsp. cocoa powder (unsweetened)
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Wet ingredients:

  • 1 tsp. white vinegar
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 5 tbsp. vegetable oil (I used canola because that’s what I had)
  • 1 c. water

As with most cakes, preheat your oven to 350 degrees to start.

imageI put all my dry ingredients in a bowl so that I could mix it around by hand a little, but the recipe says you can sift it straight into a greased, 8X8 square pan. I just poured mine in (no big deal).

wpid-20140929_155704.jpg

Then this is the cool part. You make three depressions, two small, and one large.

image

 

In the large one, you put your oil. In the top small one your vanilla, and in your bottom small one your vinegar.

image

image

 

Next you take your cup of water and pour it all over everything and mix well until smooth.

image

 

Then you stick that sucker in the oven, bake for 35 minutes, and boom, cake heaven!

image

 

I topped mine with some store-bought, vanilla frosting mixed with 4 tbsp. of cocoa powder and it was ridiculously yummy (picture hot chocolate flavored frosting)!

image

 

My hubby ate his piece with the spatula I frosted it with in about 4 glomps. I’d say bites, but I could swear “glomp” was the noise he made when he snarfed it down! πŸ˜‰ Score 1 for the Moe-ster.

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54492-121-CB15FC70384D2F8770FC6A360043D4A3

 

Do you have an easy recipe that you love to make? Tell us, tell us!! πŸ™‚

One Comment Add yours

  1. Robin says:

    We learned to make this in home ec class at school. I had lost the recipe so thank you for sharing. I know Amber will love to try this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

