Mommy Guilt

Tonight, for the first time, I had a moment where I regretted being a working mom. As I watched tears pour down the face of my 7 year old upon hearing the news that mommy was going to miss, yet another, school party, I questioned my choice to be a working mom.

Two years ago, I made the decision to become a full-time working mom. It was a difficult decision, because I knew sacrifices would have to be made; and the truth is, I have missed more school moments than I care to count since making that decision. My daughter is old enough to notice that all the other moms are there, and hers isn’t – and it truly hurts her.

So, tonight when I held my daughter while she cried very real tears at the news that I wouldn’t be there, it hurt. It hurt to the deepest parts of my soul. I could almost physically feel my heart breaking. After everyone else went to bed, I slid onto the floor of the bathroom, put my head between my knees, and I cried. I sobbed, really. For a long time. And I wondered, for the first time ever, did I make the right choice becoming a full-time working mom.

This is the part of motherhood I hate.

~Aleah

One Comment Add yours

  1. Tina Millsap says:

    I too hate when I am unable to go to Noah’s school functions because of work. It’s very difficult to see the disappointment. I’ve always been a working mom and it’s very hard. I’m so sorry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

