Grapetastic Salad

So my friend made this grape salad for a girls night in one night. She told us there was sour cream in it and I had my doubts. But man if that wasn’t the best tasting thing I’ve eaten in awhile. She said it was really easy to make and that I could just google grape salad and I should be able to find it. Sure enough, I did. After making it myself, I have a few notes. But for my first try, it was just as yummy as when I ate it the first time, so here we go.

Note: before you make it know that you have to let it chill overnight, so while it’s easy, this isn’t the recipe to make if you don’t have a lot of time before your party. Don’t you hate it when they put that note at the bottom of a recipe and you didn’t bother to read it before you got all the ingredients and started making it?

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 lbs of red seedless grapes
  • 2 lbs of green seedless grapes
  • 8 oz. of sour cream
  • 8 oz. cream cheese (softened)
  • 1/2 c. granulated white sugar (see note at bottom for a less sweet version)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

And for the topping:

  • 1 c. brown sugar (see bottom of post for an alternate amount)
  • 1 c. chopped pecans

wpid-20141018_163108.jpg

Directions:

First you want to wash and stem your grapes and set them aside. (check twice for stems because it’s super easy to miss a few. I know I did. haha)

Next you’re going to mix your sour cream, cream cheese, white sugar, and vanilla together.

wpid-20141018_165650.jpg

As you can see, I didn’t soften my cream cheese enough and it was pretty lumpy. (proof that we all make little food mistakes) But it still tasted amazing. Think thick cheesecake batter…yum.

wpid-20141018_165900.jpg

Then you mix in your grapes. I just made this salad for a small get together at Aleah’s, so I just wiped the excess cream cheese off the sides, but if I had made it for a more formal party, I would have transferred it to a different bowl.

wpid-20141018_170429.jpg

All you need to do with the brown sugar and pecans is cover the top layer of grapes with it. I didn’t use a whole lot of finesse when I poured the topping over the top, so I’m sure you can make it look nicer than mine. Honestly, I knew it would just be Aleah and myself eating it, so I wasn’t concerned too much with presentation haha.

Note: Both Aleah and I agree that the brown sugar is very overwhelming in the dessert, to the point where it’s almost too sweet. So I would suggest using less of each. Maybe cut the white sugar to 1/4 cup and the brown to 1/4 as well. I think that would make a significant difference.

Once you’ve put however much brown sugar and pecans you want, chill it overnight and then you can eat it with friends or family the very next day like I did.

Aleah made her seven-layer dip and I made this. We speak in food sometimes. I love that about us! 🙂 Enjoy.

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54492-121-CB15FC70384D2F8770FC6A360043D4A3

What dish do you like to bring to parties?

Leave a Reply

