Sign Me Up

As a parent, some days I just want to scream. I’m sure you’ve had moments where you’re tired of sounding like a broken record, parroting requests over and over and over, until you’re not only sick of saying it, you’re also sick of hearing it. Well this is how I’ve felt for the past couple of months and I decided I needed a change for my sanity haha. So I came up with this idea of rhyming signs. Each sign would have a rhyme about a chore or task that their dad or myself often need to remind them to do. Then I took it a step further and hung them all over the house in the areas that the chore would take place.

wpid-20141106_091827.jpgwpid-20141106_091844.jpgwpid-20141106_091856.jpgwpid-20141106_091907.jpgwpid-20141106_091930.jpgwpid-20141106_092023.jpg

My goal is for them to form habits. I want my girls to do these things as part of their day. If they can make a habit of picking their clothes up off the floor, maybe they’ll always do it when they don’t live home anymore. The signs won’t come down until I’m confident that I haven’t had to constantly remind them anymore. This might take a month or two, or maybe a year, or maybe it won’t work at all, but I’m determined to end the cycle of Pete and Repeat. You know, Pete and Repeat were in a boat, Pete fell off, who’s left? Repeat. Pete and Repeat were in a boat, Pete fell off, who’s left? and so on. That’s all I’ve got for ya. I’ll let you know how it’s working out and if we ever get to take the signs down.

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54492-121-CB15FC70384D2F8770FC6A360043D4A3

How do you get your kids to do their chores without being told over and over?

Leave a Reply

