Old Meets New – Christmas Traditions

wpid-wp-1417454012069.jpeg
A handmade wreath with a Santa key, since we don’t have a chimney.

 

Christmas is my favorite time of year. I love the feeling of happiness that flows throughout this time of year. People just seem happy… maybe it’s just me, and my holly colored glasses make everyone else seem happy when they aren’t. Who knows?

One thing I do know, is that I love to see the differences in tradition between my parent’s house, my in-law’s house, and our own house. I love to see the ways that my husband and I are using the traditions we grew up with to create our own traditions with our kids – traditions that they will fuse into new traditions with their own kids one day.

At my mom’s house – the tree gets decorated on Thanksgiving day. When I was a kid, it was always the Saturday after Thanksgiving (which is now, our Thanksgiving)… the tree was always up by December 1st. We have ornaments that we’d had since we were babies. Some of those are now on our own tree’s, but my mom saved a few for their tree. The ornaments are all of some significance – there aren’t any that don’t have a significance.

At my in-law’s house – a live tree is usually purchased about a week or two before Christmas, and decorated with whomever can make it over for dinner one night. Ornaments range in variety, but have all been hand selected due to a meaning of some sort. Basketballs and ruby slippers for my sister-in-law, Packers ornaments and football for my husband, ballet slippers and anything pink for my other sister-in-law… the list goes on. But, everyone has an ornament of some sort.

At our house, we have a mix of old and new. We have ornaments from my childhood, handmade ornaments our kids have made, and even a Brett Favre and MU Tiger for my husband. Mixed in with this are blue and silver Christmas ball ornaments that my husband picked out. We have a Christmas countdown, a mistletoe, a few miscellaneous decorations, and a total of 8 (yes, I said 8) Christmas trees.

My husband and I have created our own traditions that go along with the season with our children – countdowns, Christmas Eve pajama’s, and the Naughty Elf. But, even with all of this, we like to try and hold tight to those traditions we had as children. Because of this, we make a point to be at holiday celebrations with each family as much as possible so that our kids can see the things we love and loved about the holiday.

What are some of your favorite holiday traditions? Have you passed down traditions?

~aleah

wpid-wp-1417454123348.jpeg
Our tree and countdown. Please excuse the mess around it.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

