Wurk It!

I’m going to be honest. I hate working out. Like seriously hate it. I want, so badly, to be a person who likes to work out, but I’m not. However, I am a little on the plump side, so I need to work out. Which means I have to become really creative in my workouts to get them finished.

I work in an office, so I get no exercise… which means in the last 2 years, I have gained an extra 20 pounds… on top of the extra 40 I already had. EEEK! So, I recently started thinking about how I can sneak some exercise into my day. Here’s my plan. It’s easy to follow, and I have had some success with it so far. Try it out and let me know what you think.

The best part of these is that you can do them all while you are working, so it won’t interrupt your productivity!!

1. Move It

This one is pretty simple. If you can take a chance to move, do it. Have a message to deliver? Walk it to the person instead of calling or emailing. Need to go upstairs to talk to a co-worker? Take the stairs instead of the elevator. Those extra steps will add up and before you know it you are walking a good portion of your daily steps.

2. Working Lunch

Most employees allow for a 30 min to 1 hour lunch break daily. If you are someone who is blessed to have this, use that lunch break to walk, and then eat at your desk later. Ask your boss for approval first, of course. If you have a 1 hour lunch break, divide it up, walk for 1/2, eat for the other half. This is a really simple way to add some exercise in. Grab a co-worker and have them walk with you to make it more fun.

I haven’t started this one yet, but my co-workers and I are planning to do this. We have a really great set of halls in our building with a block of rooms in the center. It would be really easy for us to walk that block a few times during out lunch break.

3. Copy Work

I have been doing this, and it’s fantastic. When I go to the copier/printer around the corner from my desk, I do leg lifts (I guess this is what they are called) while I am standing at the copier. I do intervals of five, alternating legs for as long as it takes to make the copies I need. If I know I am only going to need one copy of something, I will just do 2 or 3 per leg. But, add that up over 5 or 6 trips to the copier (which is nothing for a day at the office), and there is a full set. Kick out to the side, while flexing muscles to create resistance. On your next trip, kick to the back.

4. Let me see your booty work

When I walk, I make sure to take extra big steps, and when I step forward I tighten the glute muscle of the opposite side. So, if I step with my right leg, I tighten my left glute, then switch. It doesn’t make a difference in how you “look” while you are walking, but it does make a difference in how your booty looks later.

5. Sitting Crunch

Set an alarm on your phone or computer to go off every hour. When the alarm goes off, do sitting crunches. Sit up with a straight back in your chair, feet together and flat on the floor, tighten your core (stomach) muscles, and use those muscles to draw your legs up a few inches off the ground.  Hold for 10 seconds, relax for 5 and repeat four more times.

6. Right to bear Arms

At the same one hour interval as before, pull your arms close to your side, then tighten and relax your bicep muscles. This should feel like your arms are squeezing into your sides. Do this about 10-15 times. It only takes about 30 seconds to do this.

7. Park it

This is a pretty easy one too. When you get to work, park as far away from the door as you can. Simple. This adds extra steps both morning and night.

 

Do you have an easy way to sneak exercise into your day? Share it here!

~Aleah

Leave a Reply

