52 Week Money Challenge

I’ve been seeing the 52 week money challenge around for a while now, and just to be honest, I am TERRIBLE at saving money. I always have been. If I have it, I want to spend it. My husband is a wiz at saving money though, so this creates stress for us.

I decided that one of my goals for the new year is to be better with money, and I decided to try the 52 week money saving challenge. I don’t have a lot of extra funds available to me each month/week (see above about my terrible saving habits), so I had to create a plan that worked for me so I would stick to it.

The idea of the 52 week money challenge (the original) is that you start on week 1 of the year and you save $1, week 2 is $2, and so on until week 52 when you deposit $52. By the end of the 52 weeks, you will have saved $1378. There are variations where you start with $52 and count down with the same results. Neither of these plans seem to fit well into my budget. There isn’t always a time when I can consecutively give $52, $51, $50 to savings. So, I created my own where I alternate a large sum and a smaller sum. I have a plan of how to save my money so that it will be actually saved.

So, I have included copies of my plan, and the original plan here (which I found on Google). I think Moe is going to join me in this plan as well. If you would like to join us, leave a comment here telling us your plan to commit, and which plan you will be using. We will be checking in every few weeks to update progress!!

My Plan

52 Week Money Challenge

The Original Plan

52weekchallenge-lg

 

~Aleah

Leave a Reply

