A Smooth Criminal

image

I love fruit smoothies! I’m not a big fan of things not in their right form… Example: pumpkin spice drinks. Pumpkin pie is a solid, not a liquid. However, this rule goes out the window with fruit smoothies!!

I have decided to try to make fruit smoothies my morning routine in the new year, so I am going to share my recipe. It’s very basic, but it has a full serving of each fruit in it. So, it’s power packed and a great way to kick start your day. It has more than your recommended daily servings of fruits and with the spinach gives you a good start on your daily veggie intake too.

I try to use frozen fruit, except bananas simply because fresh bananas blend better. But you can use fresh or frozen. To help with my busy morning routine, I use baggies and divide up all my frozen fruit and spinach leaves for the week and then toss it in the freezer. I then peel and slice my oranges and bananas for the week and divide those into baggies in the fridge. Then I can just grab a baggies of each, toss it in the blender, and go. It shaves about 15 mins off my morning prep time… Which is gold with kids.

Also, this seems like a lot of fruit, but it’s not as much as you think!! My kids both love this smoothie, and neither one would sit and eat this many servings of fruit each day.

1 1/2 cup spinach leaves
1 cup frozen strawberries
1 cup frozen blueberries
1 cup frozen pineapple
1 orange, peeled and sliced
1 banana – I use fresh not frozen
1/2 cup coconut milk
1/2 cup water

Throw it all in a blender and blend until it’s liquidy. Enjoy!!!! This recipe makes a 24 ounce smoothie, which isn’t huge but if you’ve never drank smoothies, it might be a difficult task for you to conquer. So, divide it in half if you need to.

image

Leave a Reply

