Military Diet Review

A co-worker talked me into joining her efforts on the Military Diet. She bribed me with her story of losing 11 pounds in three days. I was all stars in my eyes, gung-ho, let’s do this shit. Then, I got my diet food, I successfully made it through day 1, and then came day 2.

Day 2 was stupid. I hated day 2. I wanted to punch day 2 in the face.

Let me lay out the idea of this diet for you, so you can fully understand my pain and suffering. Basically, you have very small amounts of food for 3 days, then you have 4 days off – with the idea that in those 4 days you will continue to eat well and not gorge yourself on cupcakes and cookies. The authors of this diet tell you exactly what to eat, with a list of substitutions if you don’t like one of the choices.

It’s not super difficult, because the foods that you are allotted give you a wide variety of what you normally crave. You get carbs, sugar, fat, meat, veggies, fruit, etc. You are even allowed caffeine on day 1.

However, as I said before, I hated day 2. Day 1 was a breeze. I was all “I can do this. I’m excited. This is easy.” On day 2 I was all, “This sucks. I hate this. I just want some chocolate. I’m so hungry.” On day 3 I was all, “Last day, I can do this! Tomorrow I can eat.”

That’s what the best part of this diet was for me. I knew that it only lasted for 3 days. I kept holding onto that promise. I did cheat on day 2 and have a s’more with my family, but I mean, who can resist that? I just skipped the ice cream allotted for dinner/snack for the day.

I lost 4 pounds total in the first round of 3 days. It wasn’t a ton, but it was something. It was enough to keep me going for another cycle. I’m excited to try this for a few weeks and see what it can do for my body.

If you want to try the diet, visit their website at http://www.militarydiet.com to find a list of daily food and substitutions, as well as an explanation on why the diet works.

We would love to hear your success stories! Share them here, on Facebook, or Twitter using #HOHMilitaryDiet

~Aleah

Leave a Reply

