I had a Moment

I had a moment today. An “I want to cry, scream, run and hide” kind of moment. 

I’m tired. I’m having an issue with my back. And I’m at a stressful and busy time of year for work. I’m getting frustrated with the way a few things are going and I just want to lock myself away during the day to get some peace and quiet. 

I had a long day, then I came home and had to cook and clean before running off to church. On the way to church I was grumbling to myself about all of the other things I could have been doing instead of going to church. But, my son promised a friend he would be at church tonight, and he didn’t want to dissapoint her… so I sucked it up and we went to church.

The worship leader sang a song about half way through the service, and it hit me right in the gut. All of my stress, and exhaustion, and physical pain hit me. Tears sprung to my eyes and I felt like the room was crashing down around me. 

Anxiety washed over me, and I wanted to run out of the room screaming, and never look back. I didn’t. I sat and listened to the remainder of the sermon, and prayer time. 

Oddly enough, when I got home I felt refreshed. I felt like my soul had rested. Tomorrow will be another day. I’m sure I will still be stressed and tired, but for tonight I rest. 

Tonight, I watch the survivor finale, cuddle my kids before the last day of school, and I rest. I rest.

~Aleah

How do you deal with stress? What energizes and refocuses you?

Leave a Reply

