Silence is Golden

This morning, I drove across town to work and I noticed something as I sat at a stoplight. It was quiet. I had my windows rolled down, because it was a beautiful 72 outside (my perfect temperature), and it was just perfect. I sat at the stoplight through 2 rounds of the light just listening to the quiet.

Living in a mid-size town, it’s rarely quiet so this morning when I noticed the silence, I just wanted to bask in it for a minute. People across the town were just starting to wake up and begin their days, I imagine. There were no other cars on the road, and no people around. Just me.

I drove the rest of the way to work with my radio off, and the windows down, and took another minute in my work parking lot to admire the peacefulness of the day. I don’t get quiet moments like that often, and honestly, most of the time it doesn’t bother me, but today as I drove in the silence – without kids screaming at me, a dog barking at me, or a phone ringing in my ear – I realized that I need to create more of these moments of peace and quiet. I need more time to just be.

One of my favorite Bible verses is Psalm 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God…” I love this verse because it reminds me that sometimes I just need to be still. I need to stop and slow down, I need to let the world around me sink in without technology to distract me, without anything else to keep me unfocused.

So, that’s my goal for the summer. I want to take those moments to enjoy quiet time. I am going to try to wake up before my kids wake up to enjoy a nice cup of tea or coffee in the silence of the morning. I want to spend time with my own thoughts, I want to give myself time to hear the voice of God, and I want to give myself a few moments each day to disconnect.

Would you join me this summer in my effort to find peace and tranquility? 

~Aleah

Leave a Reply

