Summer Slob….

You guys, being an adult is hard. I mean, like really hard. I don’t feel like I was properly prepared for the level of difficulty that being an adult is. I mean sure, some days I wake up, do my thang, and at the end of the day I’m all, “Naaaaaiiiiiled it!”  But, on most days I wake up looking like the swamp thing, my house smells like five day old fart, my kids feel it is absolutely necessary to reenact the Civil War with one another, and I end my day thinking “What the H-E-Double hockey sticks just happened?”

Like today, for example. This is my coffee table right now. It’s 10:36 at night, and this is my coffee table. Seriously!?  But, do you know what I did? I didn’t clean my table, that’s what. I turned on a movie, snuggled up in my tattered blanket (that smells, if we’re being honest, but it’s so comfy I am afraid to wash it for fear of losing the comfy), and looked right over that table full of crap.

You know why? Because I freaking wanted to. I don’t want to adult today, so I’m using my last hour of the day, before I die of exhaustion, and I’m finding some peace and quiet and forgetting that I have responsibility. I have 4 weeks of summer break left, and I absolutely plan to use every single bit of that time to watch every movie I can on Netflix… because I can.

You know what I call that? A win.

~Aleah

Leave a Reply

