Sweet Cherry Pie…erm, uh, I Mean, Ring

I make cheesecake a lot. This weekend the request was cheesecake with cherry pie filling for the topping. No problem, except what do I do with the rest of the filling? I almost never buy a filling to top my cheesecake, because there’s always so much left over once the cheesecake is all gone. This time I decided to remedy the situation. So I searched online for a simple cherry danish. Bingo!

I found this braided danish that seemed easy enough. But then I thought, why couldn’t I make it like you make a taco ring. That would be so pretty. Right? Right. I pulled up the taco ring instructions, just so I could lay out the crescent rolls right, and followed the recipe I found.

Here’s what you need:

2 tubes of crescent rolls
1-8oz. pkg of cream cheese
2 tbsp. granulated sugar
1 tbsp. vanilla
1/2 to 3/4 cup of cherry pie filling (you could really use any kind of filling or use none for a sweet, cheese danish)

For glaze:
1 c. Powdered sugar
3 tbsp. milk
1/2 tsp. vanilla

image

Grease a round baking pan and preheat your oven to 375 degrees. You can lay out your crescent triangles before or after you mix up your filling.

image

With mixer, mix up cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla and then evenly layer it onto your ring.

image

image

Next layer your cherry filling over the top of the cream cheese mixture. Again try to layer it evenly.

image

Now you just bring the points of each triangle to the middle to form your ring.

image

Then bake it 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. Nice and easy. While it’s baking, you can use your mixer again to create the glaze. Then you can drizzle it over the top when it’s finished, or you can put it in a dish like I did, and let people drizzle as much as they want on their own. 🙂 Enjoy!! -Moe.

P.S. There was none left by the end of the night, so prepare for it to be a hit! 🙂

Leave a Reply

