Back to School, Freezer Meals, and Stanky Leg

Back to school time is fully upon us, and let’s just say I’m going crazy. 

I decided to help combat this by freezer cooking. Which took planning. I love planning things. It truly makes my heart happy. When I can plan things, that means I can make a list. And a list means I can check things off in an orderly fashion. 

So, I set out to meal plan. I had $150 and I wanted to get as much out of my money as possible. I set out to scour the Internet and then planned out all the meals I thought my family would eat (insert picky eaters here).

I decided I would get the most bang for my buck at our local Aldi, so I set out with my $150 and my list in hand. I was actually shocked that I was able to get every single thing on my list, and a little more for my $150. 

I went back home, pulled out my gallon size baggies, my big bowls, and my list (yay!) and I started to work. I ended up getting 13 meals and a pile of “coffee mug” desserts. I failed to take pictures (sorry, I was excited!), but I do have a list of what I made. I will post recipe links to these soon, but if you need a recipe just email me (houseofhelton @ gmail . com).
*Side note: my son is allergic to beef, so most of my recipes are chicken recipes.

  1. Chicken and Steak Fajitas (times 2)
  2. Strawberry Chicken
  3. Drunk Chicken
  4. Homemade Mac and Cheese (times 2)
  5. Chili Lime Chicken
  6. Pepperoni Stromboli
  7. Pepperoni Roll-Up
  8. Teriyaki Chicken (times 2)
  9. Beef Stroganoff (times 2)

Coffee Mug Lava Cake (times 6)

I also made up individual bags of marinades, so I will have some ready to use when needed. 

  1. Chili Lime Marinade
  2. Lemon Pepper Marinade (times 2)
  3. Teriyaki Marinade (times 2)
  4. Greek Chicken Marinade

If you haven’t freezer cooked, you should. It saves me so much time and it makes it easy for someone else to help cook too. All of these meals can be made in a crockpot, in the oven, or on the stove in a skillet… Which makes it easy and helps with those days when I forget to plan ahead and lay something out. 

Enjoy!

Aleah

Leave a Reply

