Naggy, Nag, Nag

As I sat pulling her hair into a perfect braid, lecturing her on how much time she wasted that morning, I saw her spirit fall. She let out a huff and slumped her shoulders, and it hit me. I am that mom.

I wondered to myself when the last time was that I just sat and enjoyed my kids. I get so lost in the shuffle of every day life that I forget to stop and enjoy those simple moments. I get grumpy from lack of sleep, or stress about my impending day, or stress from a long day, or whatever it may be, that I forget to just stop and enjoy my children.

Somewhere in our ever changing world we have gotten to a point where life is so busy that we hurry our children along, and we don’t allow them to be children. We expect them to sit for hours at a time, and be perfectly behaved. We expect them to be remember every single detail of their lives, without being reminded. We expect them to be perfectly behaved at all times, with no exceptions.

I need to slow down. I need to enjoy my children. I need to remember to tuck my daughter in when she asks me to, no matter how tired I am – because she will only ask me to do this for so long. I need to turn off the TV and the internet and play with my children even when I don’t want to – because before long they won’t want to play with me.

I am focusing on the scripture that reads, “Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger by the way you treat them. Rather, bring them up with the discipline and instruction that comes from the Lord.” Eph 6:4

I don’t want to exasperate my children. I want them to look back on their childhood with love and to have good memories.

New goal = create happy children.

~Aleah

Leave a Reply

