I Absolutely Love Her When She Smiles

I’m sitting in our truck, 8 hrs in and 11 hrs to go, heading East for a funeral. I’m tired, we’re ALL tired, and I can’t help but smile at my 3 1/2 year old. We woke her up at 2:45 a.m. to pee and apart from a quick, 5 minute cat nap, she still hasn’t slept. Instead of throwing a fit, crying, or any number of awful ways she could be acting, every single time I look back at her and she catches me, she smiles. She smiles this great big, toothy smile and I can’t help but give her one right back. I love her and despite all the sorrow that is waiting for us that she’s unaware of, I’m happy to still have something to smile about and to have someone who loves me so much, she smiles bright whenever I look at her. “My cup runneth over!”  -Moe

Leave a Reply

