A Working Mom Kind of Loneliness

Being a working mom in a group of stay at home friends is one of the most isolating things I face as a mom. Day in and day out, I wake up my kids, send them to school, go to work, come home, rush through dinner, rush away to whatever practice my children have, come home, do homework, go to bed, wake up, and start all over.

Each day, I see the things my friends are doing, I see the conversations they have and it makes me sad. I feel like my friends are slipping away from me. I rarely have time to do anything with them, and most of the time when they are doing stuff, I don’t have extra funds to go along.

I have a group of women at work who are really fantastic and I love spending time with, but at the end of the day, everyone goes their separate ways and that’s the end of that.

Some days, I feel like a hamster in a wheel.

I love my job. If I didn’t love my job, I wouldn’t be working where I work. But, I would be lying if I said I didn’t wish I could be among the stay-at-home moms. I miss my friends.

I don’t know how to combat this. I don’t know how to change it. I think that this is a battle that women have been fighting for years, and will keep fighting for years to come.

How do you combat the loneliness you feel as a parent?

~Aleah

Leave a Reply

