Hello, it’s me…

First off, let me apologize for getting that Adele song stuck in your head again. 🙂 I live in a small town in Missouri. How small? Not, we-only-have-one-stoplight small, but more like, we-only-have-one-Wal-Mart-and-no-Target small. Anyway, when we first moved here, I remember turning onto our new street and a man driving towards us waved to us. I hesitantly waved back and turned to ask my husband, “do you know him?” He said, “I’ve been here exactly as long as you have and I haven’t left the car. No, I don’t know him.”

Silly me. He was being friendly. We had come from the city and I wasn’t used to someone being kind just because. As time went on, I got more and more waves. People would wave back at me even if I was just turning with one hand and my fingers went up, and once I got used to it, I liked it.

So, driving home from Aleah’s the other night, a man waved to me from his truck and went on his way. I smiled and waved back, and then… I started crying. You see, I’m moving away. It hits me at the oddest times, all the things I’m going to miss. Something that completely baffled me when I first got here, has become a comfort of home.

Needless to say, before I leave I’m going to wave to each and every person who waves to me. And I’ll smile too. I can’t stay behind, but I can leave a little kindness and love in my stead. So if you ever see me and wave, I’ll definitely wave back, no question.

~Moe

Leave a Reply

