Temporarily Insane, Permanently Stressed

I had a thought tonight… I can see how some mothers simply lose sight of life and become overwhelmed, falling into a temporary insanity. I say this with all seriousness too.

Here’s how my descent into madness happened. 3 weeks ago, my husband hurt his foot and ended up on crutches. What we thought was a small fracture is actually more than likely a ruptured tendon. It requires an MRI, which is crazy expensive without insurance. It will also more than likely require surgery,  which is also crazy expensive. Did I mention we don’t have insurance?? Because of this injury, he has been out of work for almost 3 weeks. 3 WEEKS. Oh, did I mention we are self-employed… so no sick leave??

Now on top of that stress, my friend and I had a garage sale this weekend… good for money but I’m utterly exhausted now. So after the sale, I come inside and see my daughters room is messy. So I tell her she has to clean it (actually it’s been 3 weeks of asking her to clean it)… she doesn’t. Hours later, it’s still dirty.

I lost it. I dug into the bottom of the closet and started throwing stuff out and into the middle of the floor (from the closet floor). I made her get trash bags and start putting everything into bags. 3 trash bags and 3 hours later, we have a clean room. The deal is now, she can earn back 1 bag by cleaning her room. When she earns a bag back, she can’t earn another until everything in the first bag is put away. After all bags, if her room gets that messy again she will lose it all for good.

Needless to say, my anxiety levels were high today. Threat level red for me… and that’s when it hit me. “Temporary insanity is a much more understandable  plea these days.”

Life is hard, man. If you are someone who does this alone…. Mad Props. I am part of a team and still some days I can’t do it. They say it takes a village to raise a child, well I think it takes a village to stay sane while raising a child.

So to you parents out there, single or team… I see you. You are not alone. We are all one bad day away from losing our minds in the apple juice aisle.

How do you combat stress?

Until next time,
Aleah

Leave a Reply

