Goodbye, old friend…

Goodbye, old friend…

It happened in the parking lot of the local Wal-Mart. The place where, let’s be honest, not many finer moments have happened.

The air was warm, and TLC’s “No Scrubs” was blasting through the speakers. I drove down the road singing along…

“No, I don’t want no scrubs, cause a scrub is a guy…..”

Then it happened. The tears came pouring out before I realized they were there. I couldn’t make them stop. I pulled into my parking space at Wal-Mart, and the sobs came even harder.

It hit me like a ton of bricks. My best friend of 8 years is moving to Virginia in two weeks. In two weeks, the other half of my crazy, loud, silly personality will be gone. Across the country.

I’m used to goodbyes. I moved a lot as a kid so saying goodbye was something that I learned to be good at. But now, in my 30s, it’s so much harder. My life is set where it is, people are more consistent, and I have learned to let people into my heart. Goodbye sucks. This goodbye sucks so hard.

Let me tell you a few of the reason why Monique is my soul sister.

1. Non-Conversational Conversations

About 8% of our conversations are actual conversations where we talk to each other about life and stuff. Around 24% consists of social media or text interactions that are made up entirely of GIFs, Memes, and movie quotes. The remaining percent, whatever that is (math is hard), consists of the two of us in the same room (or on the phone) having 2 separate conversations in the most absurd voices ever. We’ve often said, we either need a reality TV show or a straight jacket.

2. Her heart.

Moe is a lover. She’s a feeler. If emotional maturity was a super hero, I would be Hulk – not quite sure how to use my powers and mostly they come out at the most awful times. She would be Iron Man – stepping out of a talking car in a double-breasted, 3 piece suit looking fly. 

She feels everything for everyone, and she loves so hard.

3. My soul. My heart.

She feeds my heart and soul so much. She gets me. She knows that when I text and say “my dad’s house was torn down” that it hurts so deep inside. I don’t have to say it, she just knows. She knows when I say I need a night out that just sitting to watch movies or get a $1 tea at McDonalds is enough.

I don’t have to tell her my heart, she hears it already.

She brings me tea and doritos at work, just because. You guys, come on.

4. Food

Okay, this is selfish and silly, but you guys, she and her husband make the most amazing food. And they always share.

****

Monique is so much more than my friend, she truly is my soul sister. She is my person, and I’m losing her.

My heart aches so incredibly bad. It hurts so much, it has almost gone numb. I feel like I can’t make it, in this world I have created, without her. And that is why every emotion I have consumed me in the parking lot of Wal-Mart. Because saying goodbye to her will be one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.

So, if you are around on the 19th of May, stop and think about us all. All of us who will be saying goodbye to her. And her, who will be moving on to greener pastures.

This hurts. It hurts so much.

~Aleah

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nancy says:

    you two are one of a kind but I am glad to have her closer. I’ve missed spending time with her.

    Like

Leave a Reply

