Like Ships in the Night

Most nights I lay in bed with my mind racing. Most of the time it’s irrational thoughts and worries… sometimes it’s worry about bills and money… sometimes it’s worry about my husband and my kids. But every time, it is worry. It is anxiety that causes my heart to race, and my mind to wander.

So on those nights, I search quietly in the dark for my husband’s hand. Just knowing he is there beside me instantly calms me. It is the assurance that grounds me and brings me down from the anxiety ridden clouds. It pulls me from the expanse of lonliness and worry and pulls me back to the present… where peace resides.

Having someone by your side is, in my opinion, one of the foundations of a happy life. My heart is full, and I must remind myself to not allow worry and anxiety to steal my joy.

~Aleah

Leave a Reply

