Did Somebody Say Slaw?

Hey Helton peeps hey, I just made up a new slaw recipe. Now, I want to say that this is more of a healthy slaw than a comfort food slaw. I’m really trying to change up my lunches, but stay within my calories, so any added crunch I can add to my sandwich or a little bowl of veggies is perfect for me.

This recipe yields about 13 (1/2 cup servings) at 88 calories per serving.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 (10 oz. bag) shredded cabbage
  • 1 (10 oz. bag) matchstick carrots
  • 1/3 c. mayo
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 3 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar
  • Salt and pepper to taste

 

In a small bowl, combine mayo, honey, and vinegar and whisk together until blended. It will look like a thin dressing when done. wp-1475775465408.jpg

I put my cabbage and carrots together in a Rubbermaid container and shook the hell out of it to mix them together. Then I added the dressing over the top and shook the hell out of it again. Add a little salt and pepper and done!wp-1475775469376.jpg

I made my slaw for a 1/2 c. serving, because I needed just enough to add a little something to my lunch and wanted it to still taste like slaw too. 🙂wp-1475775473223.jpg

 

This is just a quick, basic recipe. Feel free to play with it all you want. If you want more mayo, go for it. If you want no honey and sugar instead, or lemon juice in place of apple cider vinegar, try it out. Heck, if you want to put sprouts and celery in, who am I to stop you? And if you get a chance, leave a comment about your changes or additions. We’d love to hear them!!!

As always, happy eating :).  ❤ Moe

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

