Why I Make My Bed

bedroom-1492763.jpg

At the beginning of this year, I decided that I would try to make my bed every day. It wasn’t because I wanted to fulfill this life-long desire to make my bed. It was because, for me, making my bed provided a piece of order.

As someone who struggles with anxiety, finding pieces of order in my chaotic life is like finding a unicorn. I am also someone who gets easily overwhelmed with sensory input. Making my bed means that I can come home at the end of the day and crawl into a space that is ordered, clean, straight… even if the rest of my house looks like a tornado went through. It means that at night I can crawl into my bed, and not be immediately anxious about the sheets being twisted.

It probably sounds silly to anyone else, but for me, this small act provides a moment where I don’t have to be anxious… and that is worth everything to me on some days.

I haven’t made the bed every day, but I would say about 90% of the time it’s made. My sweet husband has also gotten into a routine of getting out of bed, stacking his pillows, and straightening his side of the bed. So, I will continue on my journey of bed making, and this year I will add another task to my daily list.

How do you find order in chaos?

~Aleah

Leave a Reply

